Chichester ArtsChichester Arts

Goodwood House

Approx 4.5 miles from the centre of Chichester

The 1st Duke of Richmond, a natural son of Charles II by his French mistress, Louise de Keroualle, bought Goodwood in 1697 as a hunting box.The original house had been built by the ‘Wizard’ Earl of Northumberland at the beginning of the 17th century. The 2nd Duke employed the architect Roger Morris to remodel the Jacobean hall in 1730 and build Carné’s Seat, a banqueting house on the hill. Matthew Brettingham is thought to have been responsible for the south wing added in the 1740s. Later in the 18th century, James Wyatt remodelled and extended the north wing, including the Tapestry Drawing Room, for the 3rd Duke. After Richmond House in London was destroyed by fire, Wyatt designed two new wings at Goodwood to house the picture collection. Built in the early 19th century, the middle wing contains the magnificent Egyptian Dining-Room, recently restored by the Earl of March, heir to the present Duke of Richmond.